The GolfRules Questions Podcast

David Blake with Co-hosts Ross Flannigan and Stuart McPhee

About

Golf Rules because GolfRules

Have you ever had a question about a golf rule? Been left confused about why a rule is what it is. Had to question a playing partner over a rules decision or just intrigued by the rules of this great game of golf.

Well, then The GolfRules Questions Podcast is the place for you.

Join resident GolfRules Questions guru Blakey and co-hosts Stuart & Rossco as they dive in behind the scenes to help bring you the latest information from the world of golf rules in a fun and entertaining way.

Available on

Community

79 episodes

Well Did It Move or Not? - THE GRQ PODCAST EP77

The GRQ Podcast #77 GRQOTW76 - Two in total. Chris Kirk - Sony Open Davis Thomson - The American Express Clubland Stories Stuart - Loose impediments left near the hole. Can an opponent move those loose impediments? Blakey Player A hits his 2nd stroke long of the green, thinking it may be out of bounds correctly plays a provisional He searches for the ball and finds it just under the 3 minutes mark He return to get a club and when he goes back he can’t find the ball again Stuart - Follow up on last weeks fourball during an individual stroke round. GRQOTW77 In stroke play, Claire's tee shot comes to rest within the margins of a red penalty area but not in the water. Claire makes a stroke at the ball and it dribbles down the bank into the water and cannot be played. They drop another ball on the bank within the penalty area in the proper relief area for Rule 17.1d(1). They decide not to play again from that lie and drop a third ball within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the spot where their original ball last crossed the edge of the red penalty area. Claire plays on from there. For this series of events, how many penalty strokes has the player gotten?

51m
Jan 25
Welcome to 2023 - THE GRQ PODCAST EP76

Welcome to 2023 - THE GRQ PODCAST EP76 For our first podcast episode in 2023, Stuart and Blakey speak about: The answer to GRQOTW75 Clubland stories #1 4BBB #2 Ambrose HIO #3 Course Records #4 HIO or Lost Ball  Sandbelt Invitational rulings GRQOTW 76 Andy the Average Golfer hooks his approach shot on the 4th hole at Wombat Hills and the ball bounces off a concrete cart path into the rough. Andy marks and lifts his ball (Ball A) to see if it is cut or cracked. There is a scuff mark on the ball, so he decides that he is allowed to substitute. He replaces another ball (Ball B) on the spot and miraculously gets it onto the putting green with his next stroke. On the putting green, Ross questions Andy, whom shows him the scuffed ball. Ross strongly disagrees with the substitution, so Andy lifts Ball B from the putting green, replacing Ball A on that spot and holing out. How many penalty strokes, if any, does Andy the Average Golfer incur?

44m
Jan 11
R&A & USGA Rules Change Outcome from 2019 to 2023 - THE GRQ PODCAST EP75

R&A & USGA Rules Change Outcome from 2019 to 2023 - THE GRQ PODCAST EP75 GRQOTW#74 Charlotte was not permitted to change her ball, but as she didn't make a stroke at it, she is only penalised one stroke for causing her/their ball to move - Rule 9.4. Stuart and Blakey go through the outcome changes from 2019 to 2023 that the R&A and USGA have created in readiness for 1 January 2023. GRQOTW #75 - Big P is taking relief from temporary water on the 17th hole at Wombat Hills. He drops his ball which lands inside the relief area but, but before it comes to rest and while it is still inside the relief area, his caddie, Andy the Average Golfer, puts his foot down and stops the ball from rolling into a divot hole inside the relief area. What is the ruling?

1h 18m
Dec 16, 2022
Cathedral and Super 6s Report - THE GRQ PODCAST EP74

Cathedral and Super 6s Report - THE GRQ PODCAST EP74 GRQOTW #73 Gerry was required to go and identify whether the ball that Fraser had found was his. By not doing so the Committee could possibly disqualify Gerry for serious misconduct under Rule 1.2. Although in 2023, it would simply be a wrong ball penalty if it was found out the ball was indeed Gerry's. Whilst Blakey has been busy at home with Golf Ops work, Stuart has been out on the road with many tournaments. Listen in as he covers Rules situations at: __ __ GRQOTW #74  Helen and Charlotte are partners in foursomes matchplay, playing Andy the Average Golfer and Big P. On the 1st hole at Wombat Hills, Helen has teed off and Charlotte has arrived at the ball in the fairway to make the 2nd stroke for the side. Charlotte marks the spot of Helen's ball and lifts it from the course, replacing her own ball on the spot. One of their opponents, Big P doesn't believe that is allowed and claims the hole. What is the ruling?

1h 1m
Dec 11, 2022
Walking and Scoring - THE GRQ PODCAST EP73

Walking and Scoring - THE GRQ PODCAST EP73   GRQOTW #72  Helen incurred two penalty strokes.   Stuart and Blakey cover:  The role of a walker-scorer.   Setting up a course for both play by both professional men and women.   The second opinion.   GRQOTW for #73 - Gerry is playing Fraser in a match and on the par 3 17th hole at Wombat Hills with the match all square, Gerry hooks his tee shot into long grass. After Fraser plays his tee shot into a greenside bunker, Gerry plays a provisional ball which comes to rest 10cms from the hole. As they start walking towards the green, Gerry declares his ball lost and asks Fraser to not look for it. Knowing Gerry has a possible tap in for a 4, Fraser decides to start searching. As Gerry moves to his provisional ball on the green, Fraser thinks he has found Gerry's original balland calls out, "I have found it". Gerry taps his provisional ball in and replies with, "it doesn't matter, I declared it lost and I have putted". Fraser isn't sure of the Rules and requests a ruling - what is the ruling?

1h 2m
Dec 03, 2022
Conditions Affecting the Stroke and Dealing With Annoyed Players - THE GRQ PODCAST EP72

Conditions Affecting the Stroke and Dealing With Annoyed Players - THE GRQ PODCAST EP72   GRQOTW #71 Andy the Average golfer is lying 6 in the bunker.   Stuart and Blakey cover:  Conditions Affecting the Stroke - the recent video of Jiyoo Lim https://youtu.be/hn8WbNzQ9g4  How to deal with players that disagree with your ruling   What Cairo is like in November   GRQOTW for #72 - Helen finds her ball in a red PA and moves a loose impediment next to her ball, however in doing so, her ball moves. Thinking that may be a penalty and in an attempt to avoid the penalty, she decides to pick up her ball and take lateral relief from the PA - how many penalty strokes in total?

37m
Nov 22, 2022
Down a RABAT Hole | THE GRQ PODCAST EP71

Down a RABAT Hole | THE GRQ PODCAST EP71 Blakey reports back on the International Series Morocco event. Played at Royal Golf Das Es Salam in Rabat. Including information about pace of play, and a couple of rulings that he had. Stuart & Blakey both share a clubland story, and cover the answer to GRQOTW70. Which brings us to: GRQOTW for #71 - Andy the Average Golfer sprays his tee shot right on the 4th hole at Wombat hills and his ball comes to rest in thick bushes. He decides to take unplayable ball relief and drops his ball using lateral relief.   He asks Big P to pick up his provisional ball which is on the fairway. Andy the Average Golfer plays his next stroke into a greenside bunker. As he starts walking towards the green, only 15m on, he sees his original ball in bushes and realises the ball he dropped was not his. With the dropped ball near the green, and his provisional ball in his pocket, how must Andy the Average Golfer proceed and are there any penalty strokes?

55m
Nov 08, 2022
LIV Golf Update | THE GRQ PODCAST EP70

LIV Golf Update | THE GRQ PODCAST EP70 I had the pleasure of applying my craft to the LIV Golf Bangkok and LIV Golf Jeddah events recently. Whilst there were too many rulings handed out, the weather conditions played a big part in how the tournament was shaped. Marcela marks her ball six inches from the 18th hole at Wombat Hills Golf Club, her last hole of the day, and then she watches the other players in her group finish out the hole. Then Marcela gets distracted, picks up her marker, walks off and goes and has a drink in the clubhouse. She is completing her scorecard and she asks her group 'What did I have on the 18th hole', and they couldn't come up with an answer. So what did Marcela score on the 18th hole, and what is the procedure if a score hasn't yet been recorded? Stuart's clubland examples pop up again.

31m
Oct 31, 2022
Rule 3 Part II | THE GRQ PODCAST EP69

Rule 3 Part II | THE GRQ PODCAST EP69 Blakey and Stuart go in-depth with the second part of Rule 3 - Competition structure, and match play competitions. Rule 3.3 focuses on 'Stroke play'. The GRQOTW69 IS: Fraser sprays his tee shot right on the 4th hole at Wombat hills and his ball comes to rest in thick grass & bushes.  Fraser decides to take unplayable ball relief - lateral relief is equally bad and he doesn't want to head back 240m to the tee, so he drops back on the line in a clearing in a penalty area - unfortunately once it comes to rest in the relief area, it is unplayable again as it is sitting in an animal hole. Assuming Fraser cannot play the ball from where it now lies, what are all of his options to make his next stroke? SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules   Co-host: Stuart McPhee  GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISE Get yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/ DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com   WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com   WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)   OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions  LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions  SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules

48m
Oct 22, 2022
Rule 3 Part I | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 68

Rule 3 Part I | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 68 Blakey and Stuart go in-depth with the first part of Rule 3 - Competition structure, and match play competitions. GRQOTW 68 Ross begins the 3rd hole at Wombat Hills and hits his tee shot however it may have gone OB, therefore he plays a provisional ball - the provisional ball clearly goes OB.  Now very frustrated, Ross plays a 3rd ball from the teeing area without saying anything, which lands on the fairway - the 1st ball is found within 3 minutes.  Which is his ball in play and why?

1h 19m
Oct 12, 2022
CLUBLAND STORIES | THE GRQ PODCAST EP67

THE GRQ PODCAST EP67 CLUBLAND STORIES Co-hosts: Stuart McPhee and Blakey Stuart provides the answer to GRQOTW66, making sure to clarify the difference between two club-lengths and taking a lateral drop from a yellow penalty area. Then we speak about interesting clubland stories, including:  __ __ GRQOTW for #67 - Playing in a foursomes stroke event at Wombat Hills, Andy the Average Golfer and Big P are partners.  On the 2nd hole, Andy the Average Golfer tees it up, tees off however hits the ball OB - while they are working out what to do next, they realise that Andy the Average Golfer has played from the teeing area of another hole, ie the wrong teeing area - who plays the next shot, from where and what stroke number will it be? Make sure to add your answer to the YouTube video: https://youtu.be/xh7RVKPpxqA

1h 0m
Sep 27, 2022
Rule 2 | THE GRQ PODCAST EP66

THE GRQ PODCAST EP66  RULE 2 Co-hosts: Stuart McPhee and Blakey Stuart and Blakey delve into Rule 1, going through all that it entails, including: __ __ We also provide the answer to GRQOTW for Ep 65, and provide another question for Ep 66: Big P hits his ball into a yellow penalty area but cannot play it from where it lies so he decides to take penalty area relief.  He measures out his two clubs from the estimated point of entry into the PA to take lateral relief, however he doesn't use any tees or any other objects to mark out the bounds of the relief area, and then drops a ball correctly within the relief area.  The ball comes to rest within the relief area and he plays his next stroke.  Including the one penalty stroke for taking PA relief, how many penalty strokes must Big P add to his hole score?  Make sure to add your answer to the YouTube video: https://youtu.be/aOrbg5nSe5c

1h 0m
Sep 16, 2022
International Series Rules UPDATE | THE GRQ PODCAST EP65

Ep #65 GRQ GRQOTW EP64 Charlotte and Helen are playing a match. On the par 3 3rd hole at Wombat Hills, Charlotte hits her tee shot long and it goes OB. Helen saw that Charlotte had played from outside the teeing area and tells her this. Charlotte asks, "so what does that mean?"  Helen explains that she has the right to cancel the stroke however as her ball went OB, she decides not to.  Charlotte tees it up again this time inside the teeing area and plays her 3rd shot onto the green, 5m from the hole. Helen's tee shot is only 3m from the hole and says, "Thanks Charlotte, that is my hole."  Why would she say that and is she correct? As Helen didn’t recall Charlotte’s shot, that meant that Charlotte was to play from their previous play, which in this case was from outside the teeing area. Charlotte didn’t play it from outside the teeing area as prescribed, and therefore she played from a wrong place, which means the opponent wins the hole. International Series Singapore Weather delays on Saturday and Sunday, due to lightning, meant the horns came out and players were removed from the course. Including on the 18th hole for the final group, which delayed the finale for over an hour. Ball played from Penalty Area is lost outside of penalty area. Ball dropped back inside penalty area, within one club-length of previous place played, precariously close to water edge. Pace of Play - singapore was very slow for pace of play, this was in part due to the heat, although you would think that player’s would be keen to play faster when it is hot. But they prefer to be sloths, and limit the energy expelled. We also had preferred lies adopted, within a scorecard length, which mean every time the player’s ball was on the grass cut to fairway height they would pick their ball up, which delayed their play further, although we didn’t take that into account for their specific time limit - 40 or 50 seconds, it certainly counted towards their time limit for the hole. International Series Korea Had a couple of rulings around whether the ball was in the fairway or in the rough, because preferred lies had also been adopted. Had a couple of rulings on the 14th hole which is almost an island green, with two thirds of the green surrounded by water, and it was a yellow penalty area, so back to the tee, and drop zone were the obvious and commonly used applications, but a couple of times the player could take back on the line and then hit over a corner of the penalty area. And finally a ruling which made it to camera about my favourite, the embedded ball, which was in the rough, but the player was able to get a club-length away, much to the surprise of the commentator. I will get that video out soon. GRQOTW Ross' tee shot has gone into a red penalty area.  He decides to take lateral relief and measures out two club lengths from the reference point.  His relief area is on a steep slope heading into the water.  He drops a ball into the relief area and it starts rolling towards the water, so he stops it with his foot.  He drops it again in the relief area and again it heads quickly towards the water, so he stops it.  When he lifts his foot, the ball stays at rest within the RA and Ross plays it from that spot.   Aside from the one stroke penalty for the PA relief, how many penalty strokes must Ross add, if any and why?

46m
Aug 30, 2022
Rule 1 | THE GRQ PODCAST EP64

THE GRQ PODCAST EP64 RULE 1 Co-hosts: Stuart McPhee and Blakey Whilst Blakey is in Korea for the International Series Korea held at Lotte Skyhill Jeju Country Club, they were able to record Episode 64 of The GRQ Podcast. Stuart and Blakey delve into Rule 1, going through all that it entails, including: __ __ We also provide the anser to GRQOTW for Ep 63, and provide another question for Ep 64: Charlotte and Helen are playing a match.  On the par 3 3rd hole at Wombat Hills, Charlotte hits her tee shot long and it goes OB.  Helen saw that Charlotte had played from outside the teeing area and tells her this.   Charlotte asks, "so what does that mean?"   Helen explains that she has the right to cancel the stroke however as her ball went OB, she decides not to.  Charlotte tees it up again this time inside the teeing area and plays her 3rd shot onto the green, 5m from the hole.   Helen's tee shot is only 3m from the hole and says, "Thanks Charlotte, that is my hole."   Why would she say that and is she correct? Make sure to add your answer to the YouTube video: https://youtu.be/GsK_Z0FHi_U

1h 41m
Aug 15, 2022
Club Land, Community Questions, and Fans Picking up Golf Balls | THE GRQ PODCAST EP63

GRQOTW for #63 - Big P tees off on the 2nd at Wombat Hills GC and the ball heads very close to the OB fence.  He plays a provisional ball.  Big P finds his original ball however it is unplayable and he proceeds to take lateral relief.  Big P drops a ball correctly and the ball comes to rest in the relief area .... Big P goes to get a club and when he returns the ball has rolled OB.  What does Big P do? SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules  .  Co-host: Stuart McPhee  .  GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISE Get yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/ .  DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com   WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com   WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)   OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions  LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions  SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules   #GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey

58m
Aug 06, 2022
Viktor's Unplayable, Rory Bullies JT's Ball, and more... | THE GRQ PODCAST EP62

Viktor's Unplayable, Rory Bullies JT's Ball, and more... | THE GRQ PODCAST EP62 GRQOTW62: Fraser has a small stone located immediately behind his ball which is lying in the bunker.  Knowing he can remove loose impediments in the bunker, and after checking with his marker if he agrees, Fraser reaches down to remove it, and upon grabbing the stone, it breaks into many pieces as it was actually a clump of sand, not a stone.  What is the ruling? Rory Hits JT's ball - https://youtu.be/HCCWIIJymNU Viktor Takes an Unplayable in a Bunker - https://youtu.be/g-8O105NuPc Community Questions - 107, 94, and 91. Double Greens at St Andrews Slow Play Money Fines vs Stroke Penalties

49m
Jul 25, 2022
The Old Course at St Andrews, Immovable Obstructions Out of Bounds, and more... | THE GRQ PODCAST EP61

The Old Course at St Andrews, Immovable Obstructions Out of Bounds, and more... | THE GRQ PODCAST EP61 GRQOTW#61 Gerry hits his tee shot way left into some thick bushes and therefore decides to play a provisional ball, which lands in the rough on the left hand side of the fairway.  Gerry finds his original ball within 3 minutes however it is deep within the bushes and clearly unplayable.  His lateral and back on the line relief options are equally impractical so he decides his only option would be to return to his previous place played.  Having already played his provisional from the teeing area and to ensure he doesn't delay play any further, he plays his provisional ball from where it was lying and counts that as his 4th stroke.  Is this permitted? We clarify the IVORs that came out of last week. Stuart and Blakey delve into the Rules situations that may pop up at the Old Course, St Andrews for the 150th Open Championship. We look at a few community questions and what constitutes water on the surface. Enjoy

54m
Jul 15, 2022
COMMUNITY QUESTION | THE GRQ PODCAST EP60

COMMUNITY QUESTION | THE GRQ PODCAST EP60 GRQOTW#60 On the closing 18th hole at Wombat Hills, Ross' drive comes to rest near OB, however it remains in the general area.  When taking his stance to play his next stroke, he stands on a concrete pipe embedded in the ground which lays outside the course boundary, which is clearly interfering with him for a reasonable stroke.   What are Ross' options to take any relief? The community question gives real insight into the public's understanding of the Rules of Golf, and also has Blakey tied up in a mess. We go the last few questions, explaining further the answers and why the definitions are the most important part of the book.

46m
Jul 05, 2022
TIME IS UP | THE GRQ PODCAST EP59

EPISODE 59 | THE GOLFRULES QUESTIONS PODCAST GRQOTW58 - Helen incurs a penalty of one stroke for moving her ball in play. Even though it was to help Charlotte, Helen was required to mark her ball first before lifting it. LIV it up with LIV GOLF - Blakey tells us about his experience in the first ever LIV Golf event. Mudal Local Rule - Stuart gives us an update on a wacky Local Rule Garcia's Broken Watch - Sergio was on the unfortunate side of an incorrect ruling at the Wells Fargo. Blakey and Stuart discuss. GRQOTW59 - Helen and Charlotte are playing Frazer and Ross in a fourball match.  On the 11th hole at Wombat Hills, Helen and Charlotte have holed out for 4 strokes.  Ross has driven the green but Frazer has struggled and he is on for 4 strokes close to Ross' ball.  Ross is further away from the hole but they decide that Frazer will putt first to show Ross the line.  Before Frazer putts, Helen concedes Frazer's next stroke however Frazer putts anyway and misses.  Ross has two putts and holes out for a 3.   What is the result of the hole and why?

57m
Jun 18, 2022
KO'd | THE GRQ PODCAST EP58

KO'd | THE GRQ PODCAST EP58 Answer to GRQOTW57 - Fraz is travelling pretty well in the monthly medal, half a dozen under handicap with three holes to go. His drive on 16 lands left half of the fairway but takes an awful kick left into the tree line. He arrives to find the ball jammed close to a tree with not much swing. Incensed by the injustice, and after a furtive peek to see if any group member is watching, he employs the ol' foot wedge and gives the ball a little nudge sideways so he has a reasonable swing and he then makes the stroke towards the green. At this point, the Club Captain, who had been enjoying a little stroll around the course and witnessed this performance, clapped his hand on the player's shoulder. What is the ruling? Jin Young KO'd by Penalty Area: https://youtu.be/qPHZ2qcyPvY This week I was recording from Watford in the UK, where I am honoured to be part of the Rules team for the first ever LIV Golf event. GRQOTW58 - Charlotte hits a putt on the green that looks to be heading past the hole and could potentially hit Helen's ball. Helen sees this and rushes over to quickly pick up her ball so Charlotte isn't penalised. After Charlotte's balls slides past, Helen puts a ball-marker down to mark the position of her ball that was rest on the green. What is the ruling? Like the GOLF IS AN ATTITUDE cap I was wearing? OR the GRQ Hoodie? GET THEM HERE: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com.au/

45m
Jun 07, 2022
Stumped | THE GRQ PODCAST EP57

Stumped | THE GRQ PODCAST EP57 Stuart's mud on ball question from EP56 is answered. We speak about the 2020PROTOUR play-off ruling stuff up: https://youtu.be/drZ0ze0C5FM Justin Thomas and his strong defense: https://youtu.be/8DL4m7x6Wt4 Branden Grace is Stumped by a tree: https://youtu.be/jFf0n74iEQg This week I was recording from Slaley Hall in the UK, where I am honoured to be part of the Rules team for the International Series England event. As well as providing you with GRQOTW57 - Fraz is travelling pretty well in the monthly medal, half a dozen under handicap with three holes to go. His drive on 16 lands left half of the fairway but takes an awful kick left into the tree line. He arrives to find the ball jammed close to a tree with not much swing. Incensed by the injustice, and after a furtive peek to see if any group member is watching, he employs the ol' foot wedge and gives the ball a little nudge sideways so he has a reasonable swing and he then makes the stroke towards the green. At this point, the Club Captain, who had been enjoying a little stroll around the course and witnessed this performance, clapped his hand on the player's shoulder. What is the ruling? Like the GOLF IS AN ATTITUDE cap I was wearing? OR the GRQ Hoodie? GET THEM HERE: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com.au/

39m
May 31, 2022
Going Out of Bounds | THE GRQ PODCAST EP56

Going Out of Bounds | THE GRQ PODCAST EP56 We finally answer the GRQOTW54 about the course boundary, and where that edge is. This includes a discussion on a previous GRQ Community question about Boundary Objects and the ability to move them: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_GzvxPbX1UQBeFluD3OLQg/community We take a more in-depth look into Scottie Scheffler's situation at the Masters: https://youtu.be/drZ0ze0C5FM And Georgia Hall in Saudi Arabia: https://youtu.be/MbWTnP0AHJY As well as providing you with GRQOTW56 - when there is mud on your ball after lifting it because it was interfering with someone else's play, in which orientation are you allowed to replace that ball? Like the GOLF IS AN ATTITUDE cap I was wearing? OR the GRQ Hoodie? GET THEM HERE: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com.au/

55m
May 22, 2022
PLAYERS BLUNDERS | THE GRQ PODCAST EP55

We finally got back into the podcast world, by recording episode 55. Join Stuart and me as we go over some of the Rules situations and imbroglios from THE PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP. Lahiri's unplayable HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/K9ITFMYFRVE Bradley's Wrong Place HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/WY6XS7LRS08 Berger's Never Taken a Wrong Drop HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/R2V1QT8DWN4 Plus, a situation from Stuart's recent golf trip.

38m
May 11, 2022
The Referee Development Pathway | THE GRQ PODCAST EP54

THE GRQ PODCAST EP54 Guest: Barry Talman - referee for the PGA Tour of Australasia I speak to Barry about his adventure into becoming a golf referee. Starting with his days as a hockey umpire, before turning to golf as recreation, and being baffled by the Rules. From there he hasn't looked back. Being the Tournament DIrector of one of Australia's best amateur golf tournaments, the Riversdale Cup for the last 15 years, as well as refereeing at Australian, Victorian and New South Wales professional tournaments. Barry has been an absolute stalwart for referee development and opportunity, the irony for his own development isn't lost on him. But he prefers to move on from that and just be the helping hand wherever he is needed. Join this channel to get access to perks: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_GzvxPbX1UQBeFluD3OLQg/join  SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules .  GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISE Get yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.  DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com   WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com   WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)   OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions  LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions  SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules

1h 21m
Mar 01, 2022
Your Questions Answered #2 | THE GRQ PODCAST LIVESTREAM #2

Join this channel to get access to perks: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_GzvxPbX1UQBeFluD3OLQg/join   SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules   GRQ MERCHANDISE https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/ .  Your Questions Answered #2 - Golf Rules Explained   Frank from Instagram - Is it recommended now or mandatory that a player inform their marker before they lift a ball to drop it?   Tuco Quevedo from YouTube - can I have somebody attending the flag when I am putting?   Hamish from Instagram - Is it illegal to putt from your knees?   Charles from Email - Can a ball deemed to be plugged if it is in a pile of pine straw and not touching the ground?   .  DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com   WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com   WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)  OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions   LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions   SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules   #GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey

31m
Jan 18, 2022
Your Questions Answered #1 | THE GRQ PODCAST LIVESTREAM #1

SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules   GRQ MERCHANDISE https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/ .  Your Questions Answered #1 - Golf Rules Explained   Carl from Instagram - Is the ball considered to be on the green when almost half of the ball is on the green but not touching the green?   Andresd11 from YouTube - Now on this vid there are two clubs and on the one you just replied said one club length. So is it one or two?   Lauren from Email - Do you have to write your scores down on a scorecard in match play and hand it into the Committee?   Kerry from Facebook - A player makes a stroke and out flies two golf balls, is there a penalty for hitting a wrong ball?   Ani from Ghana on Facebook - I was  99% virtually certain that I hit my ball out of bounds, so I hit another ball off the tee, but announced that it is a provisional ball before I hit it. I walked down to to the fairway, and find my original ball. A group on another hole then tell me that they saw a security guard throw the ball back in bounds. This security guard knows nothing about golf. I continued by playing both my original ball and my provisional ball, but what is the ruling?   DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com   WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com   WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)   OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions   LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions   SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules   #GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey

37m
Jan 04, 2022
Perspective of Professional vs Amateur Tournaments | THE GRQ PODCAST EP53

Stuart McPhee joins us again after spending the last two weeks deeply involved in the Rules of Golf. His first professional tournament - the Vic PGA is now done, after two days there, with the Port Phillip Open (an amateur event) mixed in amongst it. Then Stu joined the team in Warragul for the Gippsland Super 6, for two days of roving the fairways (and rough), to assist in pace of play and giving players rulings. So tune in to hear Stuart's take on refereeing and the differences between the professional and amateur game.

1h 5m
Dec 22, 2021
Some Rules Stories to Stu Over | THE GRQ PODCAST EP52

Welcome Onto our guest: Stuart McPhee Let’s start at the start: __ __ Trader by day, and desciple of golf Rules by night. __ __ Twice a week __ __ Dabble with internet Rules education and assisting Blakey in creating Rules videos __ __ Sat through a Level 2 Rules course that Blakey presented and have been asking him questions ever since. What got you into golf, and where did your fascination with the Rules start? Started with playing competitions and having to know everything there was to know, because I was being given the wrong information by multiple people. Okay, now the tough questions: Why are the Rules of Golf important? The benchmark of how the game is to be played, and how best to measure how you played against previous scores and other players scores. What is your least favourite Rule? Advice. I thank you very much for your time, and would you like to read out Episode 52 GRQOTW: Marcela plays her ball from a bunker and her ball comes to rest 5cm from the hole. While Marcela is raking the bunker, and so others can putt out, Fraser asks Marcela if he can mark her ball and then does so. After all others have holed out, Fraser replaces Marcela's ball on its original spot and Marcela holes out. On the next tee Marcela realises that the ball she picked out of the hole was not her ball. Fraser had actually replaced his own ball on the green after having holed out, and Marcela hit the ball Fraser had replaced on the original spot. What is the ruling, is there any penalty to either player?

1h 29m
Dec 08, 2021
Rules Stories with Mr Duffy | THE GRQ PODCAST EP51

Episode 51 - Rules Stories with Mr Duffy In this episode we hear from former USGA Senior Amateur committee member - Jerry Duffy, on how he got into golf, into the Rules of Golf, and his refereeing experiences. Also joining us, is Episode 48 guest - Fraser Nicol, as co-host. Jerry has some great stories about a player's two options, and neither included free relief. Payne Stewart's education on playing from a divot and that a person's character is being tested before a person's skill with a golf club. We hope you enjoy this episode. GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISE Get yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.  DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com   WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com   WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)   OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions  LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions  SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules

1h 19m
Nov 17, 2021
Girlfriends Guide to Golf | THE GRQ PODCAST EP50

Welcome to Marcela, from Girlfriends Guide to Golf.  Marcela is based shall, we say in California? We shall get to that.   Now before we get into the podcast, and hear more about you, let’s get the answer to Ep49 GRQOTW, which was from Gerry Bower, our previous guest.   Episode 49 GRQOTW: Fraz, Blakey and Rosco are playing the tough 17th hole with a hill on the right that is General Area and below the hill is a small Penalty area that isn’t seen from the tee.   Rosco hits his tee shot down the middle and both Fraz and Blakey pushed their tee shots to the right.   They go down and look around the area and Blakey finds his ball in the penalty area but Fraz can’t find his so says “it must be in the penalty area”.  They both take penalty area relief but Blakey and Rosco aren’t happy with Fraz also dropping as he didn’t find his ball.  They finish the round and Blakey asks for a referee.  How would you rule?  As Rossco did not have known or virtual certainty that his ball had gone into the penalty area, he was not permitted to take the lateral relief or back-on-the-line as he did.   Welcome Marcela, have you had a good start to your day?   Let’s start at the start:  Explain to the listeners who you are,   How often you actually play golf  what you do in the golf world, and  Most importantly how did you and I become friends.   So what is Girlfriends Guide to Golf?   What got you into golf, and where did your fascination with the Rules start?   Okay, now the tough questions:  Why are the Rules of Golf important?   What development in the Rules do you see, and is this good for the game?   What is your least favourite Rule?   And if it is different, which is the first Rule you would like to see changed come 2023?   I thank you very much for your time, and would you like to read out Episode 50 GRQOTW:  Amy and Becky are partners in a four mall match against  Charlene and Debbie. Charlene’s ball is at rest on the green, just past the hole.  Her partner Debbie is about to chip onto the green from the fringe.   Amy asks Charlene to mark her ball on the green.  Charlene refuses to mark and lift her ball. Debbie chips up and her ball hits Charlene’s ball at rest, causing it to roll a few inches further away.   What’s the ruling?  And how would it differ if this were a stroke play event?

40m
Oct 18, 2021